Happy 6 Months

A Wild News Post Appears!

Hey everyone, sorry, no editorial today.  Today is actually the surprise I talked about last week.  This is essentially a giant news post about the future of the blog and what this blog has achieved since its inception.

First things first, if you have not noticed, you can pre order the Collector’s Edition of Guild Wars 2 on April 10th at this location https://buy.guildwars2.com/.  Doing so will grant you access to all beta events (after the 10th) and get your 3 days early access.  As it stands now, you only get that stuff if you order directly from Arena Net.  Biggest gripe so far by the community is the cost of $150.  However, if you are one of those complainers, these items are PURELY luxury and have no actual bearing on the game you will play.  While I want the Collector’s Edition, I most likely will not get it for three reasons.

1) I find the price too high, now I am not saying that because I feel like they should lower it.  I have bought CE editions in the past, but I find that what you get is not worth the price.  I bought the Starcraft II CE and picked it up at midnight.  I found that what I got out of that is equal to what is coming in the Guild Wars 2 CE, but I got it for $50 less.  The reason I find the price a bit much is that I just don’t have the funds for it, I work for a living with my wife and living expenses are hard enough.

2) Other than the soundtrack, there is nothing in that CE that I really want.  I have a Charr plushie, but I don’t really want a statue or an Art Book.  I just don’t.  Call me whatever you want, but my statement still holds true.

3) I do not do pre-orders online anymore.  Every pre-order I have ever ordered has been late which defeats the entire purpose of the pre-order.  It took a week for me to get my CE of Street Fighter IV, 4 days for Wrath of the Lich King and the list goes on.  Every game I have pre-ordered in the store has always been there on time and I got it at Midnight (if you do not think GW2 will have a midnight release, then you need to get your head examined).  While you can argue that because of the 3 day head start access  is impossible to get late, we are not talking about head start, we are talking about CE which is the only thing I would pre-order online.  It is just how it is.  But I am not here to argue with anyone about my choice to not purchase a pre-order online.  Those are my reasons and I know that everyone has different experiences with everything.  Also, Seven is buying me a free copy because I won a bet involving monkeys and a bottle of gin.  It’s a messy story so I won’t get into details.

Next big piece of news is that I am now officially working with Guild Wars Insider.  I am involved in 2 projects, the first being actually writing up news and the second is the podcast that will be resuming shortly.  This is an opportunity that rarely comes by so I decided to take it.  First off, I really do like the people over at Guild Wars Insider, I, however, am not choosing sides on the media war that seems to be going on.  This community is great because its an actual community.  This community does not need a news source civil war.  My reasoning for choosing GWI over, say Guru, is that I find the site to be a lot more professional.  Its clean, very easy to navigate, and so far, being on the team has allowed me great access to a lot of things faster than I ever even thought possible.  So Guildmag, I love you guys as well as you have been a huge supporter of my blog and I support you guys.  However, despite working for GWI, I am still very neutral and support both of you equally.  I just happen to write for GWI and do the podcast. Oh yeah, so with the podcast, be warned that you get to have a double weekly dose of my ramblings.

Third thing is about Extra-Life.  Last year, I wrote a review about the way Trion Worlds handled things and I honestly, didn’t like how it worked out.  However, I fully support Extra-Life and Children’s Miracle Network because their event is fine, Trion Worlds just didnt handle it well.  With that said, this year, 2012, the Extra-Life event will be held on October 20th.  I have plans for this day.  For those that do not know what Extra Life is, it is a charity drive where gamers gain pledges for playing games for 24 hours on the given day (October 20th this year).  Every donation goes to your local Children’s Miracle Hospital to help give kids a second chance at life (you know, from cancer and disease).  This is one of 2 organizations I support and the other is To Write Love On Her Arms.  But lets not get preachy.  This year, I plan on hosting a community event to promote the day and help raise money for the cause.  And here is how:

PVP TOURNAMENT!

Theoretically speaking, GW2 should be out by then.  If not then it will be held in League of Legends.  The rules are easy:

Participation is based on 5 man teams, entry is $100 donated (and when the event is getting started this will be easy to find) per team.  So a 5 man team breaks down to $20 per person.  You can either get the the money via pledges or you can pay it yourself.  Our goal is to raise at least $1000 or have 10 teams competing, however, it is not limited to 10 teams and this is not limited to the US.  Me and Angerina Warpride are working on the German division of this tournament and the folks of Dragon Season for the Greek one (so if you want to help, send me a tweet, or email).

The tournament will be will best 2 of 3.  Winner will win some kind of prize yet to be determined (even if that prize is glory).  However, there is a second prize for whichever team raises the most money.  The exception is that if the team who raises the most money and wins the tournament will not receive both prizes, it will go to whoever raised the second most money.

Thats it as far s the tournament goes, given that the CE is up and running, my guess is that GW2 will be out in a couple of months after the purchase date (so something like June 10th.  If not, it will be a League of Legends tournament with the same rules.

Lastly, an update for all you guys to show how successful the blog has been.  As for now, there have been a little under 5000 views since this blog was conceived in October.  Now this is a prime source for information regarding the Engineer and product reviews for gaming.  Right now the most viewed page is my review on the Razer Naga and I have become the number 1 google search for it with Guild Wars 2.  I know, these numbers are not amazingly large, but it has definitely exceeded my expectations, so I want to personally thank each and every one of you viewers for choosing this site.  You guys are the primary reason for me continuing this blog, for continuing my work within the Guild Wars 2 community and for having a fan base of people who actually care and support.  Maybe in the future this site will expand into more territories, maybe even merge over into something better, but I couldn’t have gotten this far without you and I don’t plan on continuing further without you.

Oh yeah, if you are a mac user and want to play League of Legends, here is the beta client.

http://boompje.net/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=9902f67cbc5f909e0a5c8aedda56f536&action=downloads

So once again, I just want to say thank you guys for everything, you all have really granted me many opportunities and allowed me to meet wonderful people that I will never forget.  So Happy 6 months guys.

Leave a Reply

